There are 3 options for deciding what happens to your safe deposit box after your death. If you have already opened a safe deposit box today, by default it will be option 1 (transfer to your heirs) but you can choose to opt for another option:
- Option 1 (default): TOTAL (OR PARTIAL) TRANSFER BY A NOTARY AT THE REQUEST OF THE HEIRS
Upon your death, a transfer of the contents of your safe deposit box is organized by “a” notary (freely determined by the heirs) to all heirs, at their initiative. During your lifetime, it is also possible to select yourself which documents you want to share. By default, the entire vault will be shared.
- Option 2: TOTAL OR PARTIAL SHARING BY THE CITIZEN
During your lifetime, you select yourself which documents you want to share after your death (and to whom) and what is to be destroyed = Full or partial transfer of documents.
Approximately 2 weeks after your death, the documents selected during your lifetime will be shared with the people of your choice. Any documents you shared during your lifetime will be kept active during 4 months (this is also the case for option 1). In that way, the recipients have ample time to download or copy the shared documents before deletion. The notary is not involved in this process. THIS OPTION IS TEMPORARILY DISABLED.
- Option 3: DESTRUCTION OF THE SECURITY BOX
By choosing this option, everything in your safe that you have not previously shared will be destroyed after your death. Even if a will states otherwise. Choosing this option has irreversible consequences.
Whatever you choose, the contents of your vault will be destroyed after your death, either after a couple of days (option 3) or after being transferred to your heirs, or to the people of your choice (option 1 and 2).